How many calories does michael phelps eat?

Michael Phelps' diet in the 2008 Beijing Olympics has become legendary. During his run of 8 gold medals in 8 races he consumed a mind blowing 12,000 calories per day! That's 4,000 calories per meal and 5 times the recommended daily calorie intake for a man.