How long does it take for basil to sprout?

Basil seeds take between 8 and 14 days to germinate and emerge from the soil. After germination, look for the first set of true leaves 2 to 3 weeks later. Then, 2 to 3 weeks after the first set of true leaves emerge, basil plants should be about 6 inches tall and ready to plant out in the garden.