Who invented psychiatry?

Johann Christian Reil in 1808.

---

The term 'psychiatry' was first used in 1808 by Reil, a professor of medicine in Germany, to describe the evolving discipline, although its practitioners were known as alienists (those who treated mental alienation) until the twentieth century.