What is the difference between consomme and broth?

Beef broth is the flavorful liquid obtained from the long simmering of meats and vegetables. A consommé, is a rich broth that has been clarified to remove impurities. Consommés are perfectly clear and are fat-free. Stock is made from a combination of bones, vegetables, seasonings and liquids.

---

Broth is obtained from simmering meats or meats & vegetables. Consommés are clear & result from simmering broth, clarified using a raft, of beaten egg whites, ground meat, diced carrots, celery & onions. The egg white draws in impurities. When the liquid is fully clarified, the raft is discarded