Why do dogs smell each others butts?

It is a form of chemical communication. With their sensitive noses, Dogs can tell gender, health, diet, even emotional state with one sniff.

---

By sniffing a rear end, a dog can gain a lot of new knowledge, from his new friend's gender to his present mood and age -- and then some.