Why can't you put stainless steel in the dishwasher?

Some stainless pots and pans are not dishwasher safe. Check the bottom stamp to see if it's safe. Dishwashers will dull down the appearance over time, which can lead to spotting or discoloration. To avoid this, hand wash your stainless steel pots and pans and dry them immediately.