Does tuna fish have mercury in it?

Some tuna has very small traces of mercury and other ocean pollutants.

---

The tuna sandwich is a lunchbox staple. But several species of tuna, like other large ocean fish, contain higher-than-average amounts of mercury, a highly toxic metal that can cause severe health effects.