What's fire weed?

Fireweed is a tall, showy wildflower that grows from sea level to the subalpine zone. It thrives in open meadows, along streams, roadsides, and forest edges. A hardy perennial, fireweed tends to grow from 4 to 6 feet high. Its name comes from its ability to colonize areas burned by fire.