What is the difference between a sea lion and a seal?

Seals and sea lions differ in physical characteristics and adaptations. Sea lions (left) are brown, bark loudly, "walk" on land using their large flippers and have visible ear flaps. Seals have small flippers, wriggle on their bellies on land, and lack visible ear flaps.