What kind of dog has the longest lifespan?

The world’s rarest dog, the New Guinea Singing Dog has the longest life expectancy of around 18yrs. Only about 100 live in captivity and are thought to be the most primitive dog in existence today.

---

In general, small dogs tend to live longer. This is because larger dogs age more quickly as they grow up faster. Beagles, Australian Cattle Dog, Lhasa Apso, Pomeranian, Dachshund, Jack Russell Terrier, Toy Poodle, Yorkshire Terrier and Chihuahua are all examples of dogs with longer lifespans.