Where are black olives from?

While olives originated in the Mediterranean, they are now grown in many places with similar climates, such as South Africa, Chile, Peru, Australia, New Zealand, Argentina and California. The type of olive grown depends on the region. The Kalamata olive is grown most often in Greece.