Who is the first female firefighter in new york city?

Brenda Berkman is a pioneering female firefighter. She was the sole named class plaintiff in the federal sex discrimination lawsuit that opened the Fire Department of the City of New York to women firefighters. After she won the lawsuit in 1982, she and 40 other women became FDNY firefighters.