Where did the term okay come from?

The 1820s and 1830s had an appreciation for deliberate misspellings. So “all right” became O.W., as an abbreviation for o.l.l. W.r.I.g.h.t. and all correct became o.k., as an abbreviation for o.l.l. k.o.r.r.e.c.t., Eventually the abbreviation was un-abbreviated as the word okay.