What's in a lemon?

Like most fruit, lemons contain a lot of water, followed by starches, vitamins, sugars, and a little bit of protein. Although they are usually not thought of as sweet, lemons do contain some sugar, but not as much as most other fruits. Lemons are acidic because of plenty of citric acid.