Why is the show jeopardy called jeopardy?

The original name of the show was What's the Question?, when network exec Ed Vane rejected the original concept of the game, claiming, "It doesn't have enough jeopardies." The name of the show was changed to Jeopardy!, with a new format. Jeopardy comes from Latin iocus meaning jest, play, game