What is the fastest mario cart?

What is the fastest mario cart? Wario Wario has the highest speed in the game, with a solid 4.75 character speed. Adding the Circuit Special kart and the Metal tires adds an extra 1.0 speed at the cost of acceleration, handling, and traction.