How hard is obsidian?

Obsidian is relatively soft with a typical hardness of 5 to 5.5 on the mineral hardness scale. In comparison, quartz (crystallized silicon dioxide) has a hardness of 7.0. Obsidian occurs only where geologic processes create volcanoes and where the chemical composition of the magma is rich in silica.