What's the new top gun movie about?

Here's the plot for Top Gun: Maverick: Training a detachment of graduates for a special assignment, Maverick must confront the ghosts of his past and his deepest fears, culminating in a mission that demands the ultimate sacrifice from those who choose to fly it.