How do you chop an eggplant?

To dice the eggplant: Using a large chef's knife, slice off the top and bottom of the eggplant. Stand the eggplant up and cut thin slices lengthwise. Stack the slices and cut them into strips. Then turn the strips and cut them crosswise to the desired size