How can you tell a cantaloupe is right?

A ripe cantaloupe will be firm to the touch but not rock hard. You should be able to gently press down on the melon skin without feeling soft or mushy patches. A ripe cantaloupe is likely to also feel heavier than it looks when you go to pick it up