What's the difference between rice vinegar and regular vinegar?

Rice vinegar is incredibly sweet and delicate, while white vinegar is sour and harsh. Regular white vinegar has a whitish tinge to it. Rice vinegar is commonly pale yellow in color. And of course, rice vinegar is made from rice. White vinegar is made from corn or other grains.