What city did the transcontinental railroad not connect?

The 1st transcontinental railroad was built in the 1860s to connect the eastern and western halves of the U S, It ran from Sacramento to Omaha where it connected to established eastern railroads. Because this was an east west railroad, areas to the north and south had to connect using short lines.