What does the song auld lang syne mean?

Auld Lang Syne means "times long past" or “times gone by.” These days, perhaps we would say: "Back in the day.". For Auld Lang Syne could be translated as "for the sake of old times". It's all about raising a glass and toasting to friends and good health, which is still a big part of the tradition.