When did vaping start?

The first who came up with the idea of an e-cigarette is Joseph Robinson in 1927. However, it was in 1963 when Herbert Gilbert and his “smokeless non-tobacco cigarette” made vaping popular. The Chinese firm Hon Lik made the first modern e-cig in the mid-2000s.