What does the waltz symbolize?

It was especially popular in south Germany and Austria, where it was known under such different names as Dreher, Ländler, and Deutscher. Danced with a step, slide, and step in 3/4 time, the waltz appeared to represent the new era's ideals of freedom, character, passion, and expressiveness.