What does p. h. d. stand for?

PHD is an abbreviation for the advanced academic degree known as Doctor of Philosophy. It comes from the Latin, philosophiae doctor. This degree can be earned in many fields of study, such as Computer Science, English, Economics, and more.

---

PhD is short for Doctor of Philosophy. This is an academic or professional degree that, in most countries, qualifies the degree holder to teach their chosen subject at university level or to work in a specialized position in their chosen field.