What are pigs in the blanket?

"Pig in a blanket" is an hors d'oeuvre made with some type of link meat (hot dogs, vienna sausage, sausage links, etc) wrapped in a biscuit dough. The first recorded use of the term is from a late 1950s Betty Crocker kids cookbook, and so when made at home canned crescent rolls are often used.