What is bullet velocity?

Bullet velocity is the speed a bullet travels. This is affected by the weight of the bullet, how much charge (force) is behind it, and an often overlooked yet very important factor is the length of the barrel. Longer barrels produce faster rates of travel as well as contributing to greater accuracy.