When did jerusalem become the capital?

On December 6, 2017, then-U.S. President Donald Trump announced that the U.S. would recognize Jerusalem as the capital of Israel,[1] and ordered the planning of the relocation of Israel's U.S. Embassy from Tel Aviv to Jerusalem.[2][3] Israeli Prime Minister Benjamin Netanyahu welcomed the decision.