How is water liquid?

Water has 3 states: gas, liquid, and solid. When the energy of the water molecules is high enough, the bond that forms the solid (ice) isn't strong enough to keep them from moving around each other, but IS strong enough to keep them from forming a gas. Most elements nad compounds are like this.