Which is stronger a hurricane or tornado?

Typically, tornados have stronger winds than hurricanes, although an F1 tornado may be weaker than a category 5 hurricane. However, hurricanes are usually much more destructive because they cover a wider path and hover over an area for a longer period of time.

---

At 200 to 300 miles per hour, tornadoes have a higher wind speed average. Hurricanes have a wind speed average of 74 mph