What was sri lanka called before it became sri lanka?

As a British crown colony, the island was known as Ceylon; it achieved independence as the Dominion of Ceylon in 1948.

---

Ceylon, it became independent of Britain in 1948; its name was changed to Sri Lanka in 1972.