Why are they called flapjacks?

The flapjack originated in the 1600s in England, to describe a flat cake or pancake. "Flap" comes from the process of flipping a pancake in the pan or on a griddle. The "jack" in flapjack is almost certainly another case of "jack" used to simply mean, "thing".