What was the eruption of pompeii?

Pompeii was a city in southern Italy that was buried by the volcanic eruption of Mount Vesuvius in 79 AD.

---

It wasn't Pompeii that erupted, it was Mount Vesuvius, a volcano, which erupted in the year 79; it destroyed the entire town of Pompeii.