What is milk of magnesia for?

It soothes irritated stomach by covering its walls.

---

Milk of magnesia is a type of hyperosmotic laxative. This kind of oral laxative works by drawing water to the bowel. This softens and moistens the stool. Milk of Magnesia is used as a laxative to relieve occasional constipation and as an antacid to relieve indigestion, sour stomach, and heartburn.