Did president johnson serve in the military?

On June 21, 1940, Lyndon Johnson was appointed Lieutenant Commander in the U.S. Naval Reserve. He was an observer on bomber missions in the South Pacific. He was awarded the Army Silver Star Medal by General Douglas MacArthur. On July 16, 1942, he was released from duty under honorable conditions.