What's the difference between fruit and vegetable?

Botanically, fruits and vegetables are classified depending on which part of the plant they come from. A fruit develops from the flower of a plant, while the other parts of the plant are categorised as vegetables. Fruits contain seeds, while vegetables can consist of roots, stems and leaves.