How is licorice made?

The essential ingredients of black liquorice confectionery are liquorice extract, sugar, and a binder. The base is typically starch or flour, gum arabic, gelatin or a combination thereof. Additional ingredients are extra flavouring, beeswax for a shiny surface, ammonium chloride and molasses.