How is licorice made?

Licorice manufacture begins by making a batch of licorice paste typically with liquorice extract. The batch is cooked then extruded through a nozzle in a variety of shapes. Once they have cooled, they are cut in to pieces and covered with a shiny glaze to reduce there stickyness.