What's the highest someone has ever jumped?

The high jump world record is 2.45 meters (8 ft 0.46 in), by Javier Sotomayor of Cuba, who achieved this height on the 27th of July 1993 in Salamanca (see High Jump Record videos). Sotomayor also holds the indoor world record of 2.43 meters (7 ft 11.67 in).