What can i use for a mouse pad?

Any of these would work: Magazines, Newspapers, Bond Paper, Cardboard, Placemats, Office Folder, Duct Tape, Wax Paper, Sketchbook, Hardcover Book, Wooden Desk, Bedsheet, or Your Own Lap.