What happened to steve mcqueen?

Sadly, McQueen's acting career was cut short by an unexpected pleural mesothelioma diagnosis. It is believed that McQueen was exposed to asbestos while serving in the United States Marine Corps in the late 1940s. In 1980, McQueen died of mesothelioma at the age of 50.