What's in astringent?

Astringents may help cleanse skin, tighten pores, and dry out oil. Astringents are liquid-based formulas, usually containing isopropyl (rubbing alcohol). You can also find natural astringents with alcohol from botanicals, and even alcohol-free astringents.