What is the difference between a groton potatoes and scalloped potatoes?

Scalloped consist of thinly sliced potatoes layered in a casserole dish and baked with heavy cream or milk. The cream is often infused with an aromatic like garlic or fresh herbs. Au gratin, on the other hand, has grated cheese sprinkled between the layers, resulting in a cheesy, more decadent dish.