What is the origin of mistletoe?

The plant's romantic overtones most likely started with Celtic Druids of the 1st century A.D. Because mistletoe could blossom even during the frozen winter, the Druids came to view it as a sacred symbol of vivacity, and administered it to humans and animals alike in the hope of restoring fertility.