Where does the saying don't look a gift horse in the mouth come from?

A horse's age is measured by looking at grooves and growth patterns of his teeth. "looking a gift horse in the mouth" means you are checking his teeth to see how old his and whether or not you want to accept him. It is insulting to the giver.