Why are tennis balls pressurize?

Tennis balls are pressurized to approximately 15 pounds to increase their performance, bounce and spin response over pressureless balls. As the pressurized gas in the core of the tennis ball gradually diffuses through its rubber shell with time and use, the ball will become flat and unresponsive.