How many years has the world been in existence?

Scientists throughout history have had this question. In the 1800s, they said the Earth was 20 million to 100 million years old. In the early 1900s, they said 40 million years old. In 1911 Scientists said it was 1.6 billion years. By 1956, Scientists believed it to be 4.5 billion years old.