What is neon genesis even galleon?

Neon Genesis Evangelion (in Japanese: Shinseiki Evangerion, literally "The Gospel of the New Century") is a Japanese mecha anime television series, produced by Gainax and Tatsunoko Production, directed by Hideaki Anno, and broadcast on TV Tokyo from October 1995 to March 1996.