What's the difference between a salamander and a newt?

Newts are a type of salamander, which means that all newts are salamanders but not all salamanders are newts. Most newts have webbed feet and a paddle-like tail, which make it easier to live in water. Salamanders usually have longer, more rounded tails with well-developed toes for digging in soil.

---

Newts are a type of salamander, belonging to a subfamily called Pleurodelinae of the family Salamandridae. Most newts have webbed feet & a paddle-like tail, making it easier to live in the water. Salamanders typically have longer and more rounded tails with well-developed toes for digging in soil.

---

As adults, newts live a semi-aquatic to aquatic life, while adult salamanders live a mostly terrestrial life except for when they're breeding and laying eggs. Most newts have webbed feet and a paddle-like tail, which make it easier to live in the water.