Why do animals shed?

Animals shed because their fur coat is dependent upon the seasons. During colder months hormonal changes trigger an animals fur coat to grow thicker helping to keep the animal warm. As weather turns warmer the fur starts to fall from the animals skin helping the animal adapt to higher temperatures.

---

Animals shed their coat, when the warmer months are coming - to keep them cool, and get a new coat for when the cooler weather arrives.