Why do animals shed?

Animals shed because their fur coat is dependent upon the seasons. During colder months hormonal changes trigger an animals fur coat to grow thicker helping to keep the animal warm. As weather turns warmer the fur starts to fall from the animals skin helping the animal adapt to higher temperatures.